The Eindhoven School: a forgotten avant-garde?

The exhibition The Eindhoven School: a forgotten avant-garde? was the result of a two-year research into the history of what is called ‘the Eindhoven School’: a group of architects, graduated from Eindhoven during the period 1973-1990. Their work, however pluralistic, is characterized by an open-minded approach towards architecture and art history, and can be seen as early adapters of post-modernism in Dutch architecture. The motivation for undertaking such a project came from the deaths in 2016 of professors Geert Bekaert, Gerard van Zeijl and Joost Meuwissen, the curators of the first exhibition on this alledged ‘Eindhoven School’.

Between 2017 and 2020, The Eindhoven School: a forgotten avant-garde? travelled from the architecture faculty at TU Eindhoven to OMI (Office for Metropolitan Information) in Rotterdam, to the architecture faculty at TU Delft, to the newly opened Charles Vandenhove Pavilion in Ghent, to finally return to the venue of the original 1988 exhibition in DeSingel in Antwerp.

During its run, the exhibition hosted a plethora of activities, such as film screenings, lectures, panel discussions, and at its culmination a symposium at Het Nieuwe Institute titled “Whatever Happened to History and Theory in Dutch Architecture?”

View the online tour of the exhibition in DeSingel


  • Justin Agyin
  • Lennart Arpots
  • Sergio M. Figueiredo
  • Dario Sposini
  • Matteo Basso
  • Kapilan Chandranesan
  • Daan Jenniskens


  • Creative Industries Fund NL
  • TU Eindhoven
  • University of Ghent
  • Het Nieuwe Instituut

with special thanks to:

  • Wiel Arets
  • Hetty Berens
  • Wim van den Bergh
  • Ralph Brodrück
  • Matty Christensen
  • Jo Coenen
  • Bert Dirrix
  • Kees Doevendans
  • Cees Donkers
  • Marc Dubois
  • Jos van Eldonk
  • Babet Galis
  • Christophe van Gerrewey
  • Tony Goossens
  • Martien Jansen
  • Maarten Janssen
  • John Körmeling
  • Bart Lootsma
  • Annette Marx
  • Dirk De Meyer
  • Marian Plug
  • Meredith Plug
  • Sjoerd Soeters
  • Bert Staal
  • Ady Steketee
  • John Swagten
  • Frank Wintermans
  • Paul Wintermans
  • Rudy Uytenhaak
  • Marjan van Zeijl
  • René van Zuuk